to the top
 
Registrieren
   
Urgent: The deadline for abstract submission is extended until 10 April 2017. There will no more extensiosn...

Inaugural Congress of the Africain Primatological Society

The African Primatological Society (APS) will hold its inaugural Congress and Workshop in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, from July 25-27, 2017. We are very proud and excited to announce this history making Congress which will officially establish the APS for the advancement of African primate research and conservation.

At the IUCN/SSC Primate Specialist Group African Primate Red List Assessment Workshop held in Rome, Italy from the18th – 23rd of April 2016, experts assessed the conservation status of African primates wherein 100 out of 179 taxa were classified as threatened with 35 endangered and 15 critically endangered species. More than ever before, these assessments revealed the dire situation facing African primates and drew attention to the potential for imminent and catastrophic loss of the continent’s rich primate biodiversity if concrete steps are not taken urgently to reverse the current trend (Imong et al. 2016). Thus, it became evident that there should be greater commitment from all stakeholders. Thus national governments, international organizations, donor agencies, research institutions, local communities, groups and individuals must reassess their levels of commitment and intervention strategies, and reposition themselves to be more effective in their efforts to save Africa’s primate diversity. In particular, Africans must be better positioned to lead efforts if long term, effective conservation of African primates is to be realized.

As a result, the African attendees at this workshop held a series of meetings to discuss progress towards the formation of an African primate group/society. The meetings in Rome, Italy built on that of the former African Primate Working Group (APWG) held in Cape Town, South Africa in July 2015. The APWG itself was formed after several discussions which have taken place since 2012 at the International Primatological Society (IPS) congresses in Cancun, Mexico and in Hanoi, Vietnam in 2014. 

The decision to transition from a Working Group to a Society has come at an opportune time with many more researchers and conservationists working on African primates increasingly more interested in being part of a home-grown network. A steering committee was immediately constituted in Rome to deliver on the mandate of first Congress inaugurating this new society, and undertaking associated activities to facilitate the affairs of the group. Two members of the APS received support by Conservation International to promote the APS during the IPS meeting in August 2016 and the announcement of the inaugural congress of the APS received enthusiastic support.

The Congress will gather together approximately 150-200 African Primatologists, non-African researchers and conservationists working on African primates as well as other stakeholders. The first general assembly of APS members will also take place, as well as keynote addresses during plenaries from outstanding primatologists, poster sessions and round table discussions.

 

OBJECTIVES

The overall goal of the congress is to formally inaugurate the African Primatological Society and position the group to serve as a platform for knowledge and experience sharing amongst researchers, conservationists, education practitioners, donors and decision makers across the African continent towards the effective conservation of African primates.

Specific objectives with corresponding activities include:

- To improve knowledge of the advances, constraints, and future perspectives of Primatology in the different regions of Africa (Western Africa, Eastern Africa, Northern Africa, Southern Africa, Central Africa, and Madagascar)

- One or two persons will be selected per region primarily amongst the members of the steering committee of the APS to collect information about the state of primatology in their respective region before the date of the congress, and document it with the inputs of the maximum of stakeholders with expert knowledge of the region.

Subtopics will include:
Primate education: issues, curricula, number of locals trained at various levels, fields of expertise, lessons, opportunities, future perspectives…
Primate research: topics including funding issues, number of projects involving Africans vs number of projects led or co-led by Africans, topics, species, number of publications vs number of publications co-authored by Africans vs number of publications with Africans as first authors or corresponding authors, lessons, opportunities, future perspectives…
Primate conservation: constraints including funding issues, conservation challenges, number of projects involving Africans vs number of projects led or co-led by Africans, species considered, impacts, scopes, opportunities, future perspectives… 

    • Day 1 of the Congress will be dedicated to the presentation of the results of the above information gathering exercise during plenaries. These talks will be preceded by a keynote speech by Russ Mittermeier entitled “The promises of regional leadership in the field of primatology: A comparative analysis across continents”.
    • The results of these investigations will be published as a CSRS document and in a special issue of African Primates.
  • To share results of selected projects dealing with various aspects of African Primatology (ecology, ethology, systematics, taxonomy, distribution, epidemiology, anthropology, human-primate interactions, conflicts, education, conservation…);
    • The Scientific Committee will select up to 50 abstracts for oral communications and up to 20 posters.
    • During Day 2 of the Congress, selected candidates will give their oral presentations during several parallel sessions with simultaneous English-French translation. These talks will be preceded by a keynote speech from an international guest on the topic: “Primate research and conservation in Africa: lessons from long-term North-South Cooperation”.
    • A poster session will be organized and visitors will be invited to evaluate the quality of competing posters and their presentation on specific sheets in order for a jury to select the winner of the award of the best poster.
    • Day 3 of the Congress will start by a keynote speech by an international guest on the topic “New challenges and opportunities in Primate Conservation across Africa”.

A round table will be organized on the topic “Why and how to develop African leadership in Primatology?” Panelists will include representatives of IUCN/PSG, IPS, African primatologists, the Brazilian Primatological Society, and donors.   

  • To adopt the constitution of the APS and elect chairs of the different governance bodies.
    • An ad hoc committee will be established to draft the constitution of the society, and integrate inputs from stakeholders before the dates of the Congress.
    • Once the constitution of the Society is finalized, an Election Committee will launch calls for applications to elect the President of the Association and other officers, shortlist the best candidates per position and organize votes.  

The names of featured speakers and panelists will be communicated on the congress webpage in due time (www.csrs.ch/aps.index.php).   
Of note is that a 4th day will be dedicated either to a workshop on the burgeoning Red colobus action plan, or to an excursion in a primate field site for those who do not work on red colobus monkeys. There will also potentially be a 2-day post-congress training for selected early career primatologists who have been identified as showing keen interest in pursuing a career in primatology.

The African Primatological Society (APS) is convinced that our proposed congress is relevant to the interest of protecting critically endangered primates and of preserving primate diversity in their natural habitat. In the first instance, the objective of APS is to promote primate research and improve the conservation of African primates by encouraging greater involvement and leadership of African primatologists. Currently, 56% of the 179 primates assessed for mainland Africa and 87 % of the 103 primate taxa assessed for Madagascar are threatened. Thus, many African primate species are facing extinction despite all current multifaceted conservation efforts. This suggests a need for greater commitment from all stakeholders, especially Africans themselves. Yet the critical mass of skilled African primatologists required to stimulate debates and influence policies does not exist. Many existing African primatologists play only secondary roles in research and conservation projects if they actually stay in the field of primatology. The few outstanding African primatologists are unknown to one another and thus do not have the ideal forum to share experiences that will enhance their efforts. We believe that without much greater involvement and leadership from Africans, primate conservation efforts will continue to be jeopardized. Thus, the establishment of a group that will enhance conservation efforts and promote information sharing within the African continent can be seen as a potential opportunity to make primate conservation more effective.

 

CONGRESS VENUE
The Congress will take place in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, West Africa. The country harbors one of the highest primate diversities in Africa (20+ species) and is relatively easy to access by plane from most regions of Africa and Europe with direct flights. The Congress will be hosted by the Centre Suisse de Recherches Scientifiques en Côte d’Ivoire (CSRS) which has three long-term primate research and conservation projects including one led by a national. The Congress will be co-hosted by the Université Félix Houphouet-Boigny, which offers a number of facilities of international standards including modern theatres, meeting rooms, shuttles, and exhibition halls.

 

CALL FOR ABSTRACTS
Before registration, we invite scientists and practicionners working on African Primates to submit abstracts for oral presentations and posters (see call for abstract at the following link : http://www.csrs.ch/aps/fichiers/aps2017_abstract_firstname_name
Then go on the page for the online submission of abstracts : http://www.csrs.ch/aps/eng/ins-resume.php

REGISTRATION
Every person who wishes to attend the congress has to join in due form and pay the expenses of participation. The registration will be opened from April 2nd, 2017, in particular for those who will have to wait for a definitive decision concerning the subdued summaries and/or their request of financial support of the organizers. You can join earlier if you are in none of these cases. The registration form is available on the Web page of the congress: http://www.csrs.ch/aps/eng/inscription-form.php

PARTICIPATION
Even if your paper is accepted, your participation in the conference is conditioned by the payment of the registration fee. The amounts of the fees are listed below. The registration fee includes documentation, participation in the various plenary and simultaneous sessions, coffee breaks and lunches.

Registration

Before 20 June 2017 (XOF)

From 21 June 2017 (XOF)

Africans

50,000

75,000

Non Africans

75,000

100,000

Students

25,000

30,000

For conversion into your currency, please visit the website:  www.xe.com/fr

The payment may be made under two scenarios:

  • Scenario 1: by bank transfer no later than 30 June 2017 on the account provided by CSRS (specify object: costs of participation in APS 2017 and fax transfer order at +225 23 45 12 11, an acknowledgment of receipt will be sent to the e-mail address indicated by you).
  • Scenario 2: Cash payment at CSRS or on the conference venue until we go through all the available places.

A limited number of grants will be offered to selected African Primatologists if their abstracts is selected for an oral communication or a poster. Interested candidates must apply for a grant when submitting their abstracts. Grants may cover one or several of the following items: return plane ticket (from an African city), accommodation (5 nights), registration fees, daily subsistence fees (6 days).

Evidence for co-funding will be an asset.

For more information, please send an e-mail to: aps@csrs.ci

 

Dear visitor

We are happy, that you are interested in finding information about this event.

Very probably you are using the Internet Explorer Version 6. This browser is out of date and is not able to handle the current web standards. Microsoft has asked users to update to a newer version of this browser as it is no longer supported by Microsoft: www.ie6countdown.com.

To enjoy the full content of this and many other internet websites, kindly update to an up to date version of your internet browser.

to the top
 
Registrieren
   
Urgent: La date limite pour la soumission des résumés est prolongée jusqu'au 10 Avril 2017. Il n'y aura plus de prolongation...

Congrès Inaugural de la Société Africaine de Primatologie

Du 25 au 27 juillet 2017, la Société Africaine de Primatologie (SAP) organisera son Congrès inaugural à Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire. Nous sommes très fiers et enthousiastes d’annoncer la tenue de cet illustre événement qui marquera la création officielle de la SAP pour l’avancement de la recherche et la conservation des primates en Afrique.
A l’atelier de révision de la liste rouge des primates de l’Afrique organisé par le Groupe des Spécialistes des Primates de la Commission de Sauvegarde des Espèces de l’Union Internationale pour la Conservation de la Nature (IUCN/SSC) qui s’est tenu du 18 au 23 avril 2016 à Rome en Italie, les experts ont évalué le statut de conservation des primates d’Afrique. Ainsi sur 179 taxa, 100 ont été classés comme menacés dont 35 en danger et 15 en danger critique. Plus que jamais, ces évaluations ont révélé la situation désastreuse des primates d’Afrique et attiré l'attention sur la possibilité d'une perte imminente et catastrophique de la riche biodiversité des primates du continent si des mesures concrètes ne sont pas prises de toute urgence pour inverser la tendance actuelle (Imong et al., 2016). Il parait évident qu'il devrait y avoir un plus grand engagement de toutes les parties prenantes. Ainsi, les gouvernements nationaux, les organisations internationales, les bailleurs de fonds, les institutions de recherche, les communautés locales, les groupes et les individus doivent réévaluer leurs niveaux d'engagement et leurs stratégies d'intervention et se repositionner pour être plus efficaces dans leurs efforts pour sauver la diversité des primates d’Afrique. Pour une conservation efficace à long terme de ces primates, les Africains en premier doivent être mieux positionnés pour diriger toutes les actions de conservation.
De ce fait, les Africains présents à cet atelier ont tenu une série de rencontres pour poser les jalons de la formation d'un groupe / société panafricain de primatologie. Les réunions de Rome, en Italie, ont été organisées sur la base des acquis de l'ancien Groupe de Travail sur les Primates d’Afrique (African Primates Working Group : APWG) qui s’est réuni à Cape Town en Afrique du Sud en juillet 2015. Le APWG lui-même a été formé après plusieurs discussions qui ont eu lieu depuis 2012 aux différentes rencontres de la Société Internationale de Primatologie (IPS) à Cancun, au Mexique, et à Hanoi, au Vietnam, en 2014.
Vu le nombre grandissant de chercheurs et de professionnels africains de la conservation travaillant sur les primates d’Afrique et leur intérêt d’appartenir à un réseau, la décision de passer d'un groupe de travail à une société est arrivée à un moment opportun.
Ainsi, un Comité de Pilotage fut immédiatement constitué à Rome pour donner suite au mandat du premier Congrès inaugurant cette nouvelle société et entreprendre des activités associées pour faciliter les activités du groupe. Deux membres de la SAP ont reçu le soutien de Conservation International pour promouvoir la SAP lors du Congrès d’IPS en août 2016. L'annonce du congrès inaugural de la SAP y a reçu un soutien enthousiaste.

Le Congrès rassemblera environ 150-200 Primatologues africains, des chercheurs non africains et des conversationnistes travaillant sur les primates d’Afrique ainsi que d'autres parties prenantes. Par ailleurs, il se tiendra la première Assemblée Générale des membres de la SAP, ainsi que des conférences en plénières animées par d’illustres primatologues, des séances d'affiche de posters et des tables rondes.

OBJECTIFS

L'objectif général du congrès est de constituer formellement la Société Africaine de Primatologie et de positionner le groupe comme une plate-forme de partage de connaissances et d'expériences entre chercheurs, acteurs de la conservation, professionnels de l'éducation, bailleurs de fonds et décideurs du continent africain, afin de conserver effectivement les primates d’Afrique.

Objectifs spécifiques et activités correspondantes :

  • Améliorer la connaissance sur les acquis, les contraintes et les perspectives de la Primatologie dans les différentes régions d'Afrique (Afrique de l'Ouest, Afrique de l'Est, Afrique du Nord, Afrique australe, Afrique centrale et Madagascar)
    •  Une ou deux personnes seront sélectionnées par région principalement parmi les membres du Comité de Pilotage de la SAP pour recueillir des informations sur l'état de primatologie dans leur région respective avant la date du congrès et la documenter avec les contributions du maximum des parties prenantes ayant une connaissance approfondie de la région.

Les sous-thèmes incluront :
Education en Primatologie : questions, cursus, nombre de sections locales formées à différents niveaux, champs d'expertise, leçons,  opportunités, perspectives ...
Recherches sur les Primates : thèmes impliquant les questions de financement, nombre de projets impliquant les africains par rapport au nombre de projets coordonné ou co-coordonné par des africains, les thèmes, les espèces, le nombre de publications avec des africains comme premier auteur ou auteur correspondant, les leçons, les opportunités, les perspectives…
Conservation des Primates : Contraintes impliquant les questions de financements, les défis de conservations, le nombre de projets impliquant des africains par rapport au nombre de projets menés ou co-dirigés par des Africains, les espèces considérées, les impacts, la portée des actions de conservation, les opportunités, les perspectives…

    • Le Jour 1 du Congrès sera consacré à la présentation des résultats de l'exercice de collecte d'informations ci-dessus lors des séances plénières. Ces présentations seront précédées d'un discours liminaire fait par Dr. Russ Mittermeier et intitulé « Les promesses du leadership régional dans le domaine de la primatologie : analyse comparative entre les continents »”
    •  Les résultats de ces investigations seront publiés en tant que document du CSRS et dans un numéro spécial du Journal African Primates.
  • Partager les résultats de projets sélectionnés traitant de divers aspects de la Primatologie africaine (écologie, éthologie, systématique, taxonomie, distribution, épidémiologie, anthropologie, interactions homme-primate, conflits, éducation, conservation ...);
    •  Le Comité scientifique sélectionnera jusqu'à 50 résumés pour les communications orales et une vingtaine de posters.
    •  Durant le Jour 2 du congrès, les candidats sélectionnés feront leur communication orale pendant plusieurs sessions parallèles avec traduction simultanée anglais-français. Ces présentations seront précédées d'un discours d'ouverture fait par un invité international sur le thème : « La recherche et la conservation des primates en Afrique : leçons de la coopération Nord-Sud à long terme ».
    •  Une séance de visite des posters sera organisée et les visiteurs seront invités à évaluer la qualité des différents posters concurrents et leur présentation sur des feuilles spécifiques afin qu'un jury sélectionne le lauréat du prix du meilleur poster.
    • Le Jour 3 du Congrès commencera par un discours d'ouverture fait par un invité international sur le thème « Nouveaux défis et opportunités dans la conservation des primates à travers l'Afrique ».

Une table ronde sera organisée sur le thème « Pourquoi et comment développer le leadership africain en Primatologie ?» le panel sera constitué : des représentants de l'UICN / GSP, de la SIP, des primatologues africains, de la Société brésilienne de Primatologie des bailleurs de fonds…

  • Adopter la constitution de la SAP et élire les présidents des différents organes de gouvernance
    • Un comité spécial sera créé pour rédiger la constitution de la société et intégrer les contributions des parties prenantes avant la date du Congrès
    • Une fois la constitution de la Société terminée, un Comité électoral lancera des appels à candidatures pour élire le Président de la Société pendant que d'autres membres des instances dirigeantes, sélectionneront les meilleurs candidats par poste et organiseront des votes.

Les noms des conférenciers et des panélistes seront communiqués en temps voulu sur le site Web du congrès (www.csrs.ch/aps.index.php).  
Il est à noter qu'une quatrième journée sera consacrée soit à un atelier sur le Plan d'Actions pour la Conservation du colobe bai qui est en cours d’élaboration, soit à une excursion dans un site où l’on retrouve de primates pour ceux qui ne travaillent pas sur des singes colobes rouges. Il est également envisagé une formation post-congrès de deux jours pour certains primatologues sélectionnés qui ont été identifiés comme montrant un vif intérêt à poursuivre une carrière en primatologie

PERTINENCE DES OBJECTIFS DE CONSERVATIONS DES PRIMATES
La Société Africaine de Primatologie (SAP) est convaincue que son congrès proposé est pertinent pour l'intérêt de la protection des primates gravement menacés et de la préservation de la diversité des primates dans leur habitat naturel. Dans un premier temps, l'objectif de la SAP est de promouvoir la recherche sur les primates et d'améliorer la conservation des primates africains en encourageant une participation et un leadership accrus des primatologues africains. Actuellement, 56% des 179 primates évalués pour l'Afrique continentale et 87% des 103 taxons primates évalués pour Madagascar sont menacés. Ainsi, de nombreuses espèces de primates africains sont en voie d'extinction en dépit de tous les efforts multiples, actuels de conservation. Cela suggère un besoin de plus d'engagements de toutes les parties prenantes, en particulier les Africains eux-mêmes. Pourtant, la masse critique de primatologues africains qualifiés nécessaire pour animer les débats et influencer les politiques n'existe pas encore. De nombreux primatologues africains ne jouent que des seconds rôles dans les projets de recherche et de conservation s'ils restent effectivement dans le domaine de la primatologie. Les quelques primatologues africains remarquables sont inconnus les uns des autres et n'ont donc pas le forum idéal pour partager des expériences qui renforceront leurs efforts. Nous croyons que sans une implication massive et d’un leadership des Africains, les efforts de conservation des primates continueront à être compromis. Ainsi, la création d'un groupe qui permettra d'améliorer les efforts de conservation et de promouvoir le partage de l'information sur le continent africain peut être considérée comme une possibilité potentielle de rendre la conservation des primates plus efficace.

LIEU DU CONGRES
Le Congrès aura lieu à Abidjan, en Côte d'Ivoire, en Afrique de l'Ouest. Le pays abrite l'une des plus grandes diversités de primates en Afrique (20+ espèces) et est relativement facile d'accès en avion depuis la plupart des régions d'Afrique et d'Europe avec des vols directs. Le Congrès sera organisé par le Centre Suisse de Recherches Scientifiques en Côte d'Ivoire (CSRS) qui depuis plusieurs années a trois projets de recherche et de conservation des primates dont un est coordonné par un national. La co-organisation du cet évènement sera assurée par l'Université Félix Houphouët-Boigny, qui offre un certain nombre d'installations de normes internationales, y compris les amphithéâtres modernes, des salles de réunion, halls d'exposition et une logistique.

Appels à Résumés
Avant l'inscription, nous invitons les primatologues et les professionnels de la conservation travaillant sur les primates africains à soumettre des résumés pour des présentations orales et des posters (voir le lien de téléchargement du fichier pour les appels à résumé : http://www.csrs.ch/aps/fichiers/aps2017_resume_prenom_nom).
Ensuite aller sur la page de soumission des appels à résumés pour soumettre en ligne sa candidature à l'adresse suivante : http://www.csrs.ch/aps/ins-resume.php

INSCRIPTION
Toute personne qui souhaite assister au congrès doit s'inscrire en bonne et due forme et payer les frais de participation. L'inscription sera ouverte à partir du 2 avril 2017, en particulier pour ceux qui devront attendre une décision définitive concernant les résumés soumis et / ou leur demande de soutien financier des organisateurs. Vous pouvez vous inscrire plus tôt si vous n'êtes pas dans aucun de ces cas. Le formulaire d'inscription est disponible sur la page web du congrès: http://www.csrs.ch/aps/inscription-form.php

PARTICIPATION
Même si votre article est accepté, votre participation au congrès est conditionnée par le paiement des frais d'inscription. Les montants des frais sont indiqués ci-dessous. Les frais d'inscription comprennent la documentation, la participation aux différentes séances plénières et simultanées, les pauses café et les déjeuners.

Registration

Avant le 20 juin 2017 (F.CFA)

À partir du 21 Juin 2017 (F.CFA)

Africain

50,000

75,000

Non Africain

75,000

100,000

Etudiant

25,000

30,000

Pour la conversion dans votre devise, veuillez visiter le site Web :  www.xe.com/fr
Le paiement peut être effectué selon deux scénarios :

  • Scénario 1: par virement bancaire au plus tard le 30 juin 2017 sur le compte fourni par le CSRS avec l'objet : Coûts de participation à SAP 2017 et ordre de transfert par fax au +225 23 45 12 11; L'accusé de réception sera envoyé à l'adresse e-mail indiquée par vous.
  • Scenario 2: Paiement en espèces au CSRS ou sur le lieu du congrès jusqu'à ce qu’il n’y ait plus de places disponibles.

Un nombre limité de bourses sera offert à certains primatologues africains si leur résumé est sélectionné pour une communication orale ou si leur poster est retenu. Les candidats intéressés doivent demander une subvention lors de la soumission de leurs résumés ou posters. Les subventions peuvent couvrir un ou plusieurs des éléments suivants : billet d'avion de retour (d'une ville africaine), hébergement (5 nuits), frais d'inscription, frais de subsistance journaliers (6 jours).

La preuve du cofinancement sera un atout

Pour plus d’informations, veuillez envoyer un e-mail à : aps@csrs.ci

Dear visitor

We are happy, that you are interested in finding information about this event.

Very probably you are using the Internet Explorer Version 6. This browser is out of date and is not able to handle the current web standards. Microsoft has asked users to update to a newer version of this browser as it is no longer supported by Microsoft: www.ie6countdown.com.

To enjoy the full content of this and many other internet websites, kindly update to an up to date version of your internet browser.