Scientific event: the excellence of African research in Tanzania

The annual meeting of the research programme ‘Afrique One-African Science Partnership for Intervention Research Excellence (ASPIRE)’ will be held in Arusha, Tanzania, from 19th to 23rd September 2017.

Launched the 21st July 2016 in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire, with the aim to build capacities of the new generation of African scientists in human-animal-environmental health through the One Health approach, Afrique One-ASPIRE has recruited more than fifty young African scientists coming from ten African countries including Tanzania.

The fellows recruited was gathered in Arusha since the 10th September 2017 at the Nelson Mandela-African Institute for Science and Technologies (NM-AIST) for a summer school on ‘research design, management, planning and grant writing’. From the 19th to 20th September 2017, they will present their research protocols. Principal Investigators, training facilitators and members of the Scientific Advisory Board are invited to assess them and provide feedback. Some awards will be given to the fellows having the best oral presentation and the best posters.

The management board meeting will be held on two days, on 21st and 22nd September 2017. It will reflect on the progress of the programme implementation and discusses training, supervision, reporting and research management. The management board meeting will also be a good occasion to plan the 2nd year of Afrique One-ASPIRE.

About Afrique One-ASPIRE

Afrique One-ASPIRE is the continuity of the consortium ‘Ecosystem and population health: expanding frontiers in health’ and one of the eleven beneficiaries of the Developing Excellence in Leadership, Training and Science (DELTAS Africa) initiative managed by the Alliance for Accelerating Excellence in Science in Africa (AESA) and funded by a donor consortium that comprises the African Academy of Science (AAS), The New Partnership for African Development (NEPAD), the Wellcome Trust and UKaid.

Tanzania is represented with seven institutions in Afrique One-ASPIRE that comprises in total 15 institutions across West and East Africa and Europe. The National Institute for Medical Research, Sokoine University of Agriculture, Tanzania Wildlife Research Institute, University of Dar es Salaam, Kilimanjaro Clinical Research Institute/Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Centre, Nelson Mandela African Institute of Science and Technology and Ifakara Health Institute. All of them contribute to the Afrique One-ASPIRE aspiration to harness the unique societal drivers of Africa to build a world-leading Pan-African research capacity in One Health science.

Facebook Twitter Google Plus