Afrique One-ASPIRE: the program starts this Thursday 21 July 2016

Afrique One-ASPIRE is the second phase of an African research program aimed at training the next generation of African researchers through One Health. This new phase will be launched on Thursday 21st July 2016 at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Abidjan. Afrique One-ASPIRE receives funding from a consortium of donors (Wellcome Trust, African Academy of Sciences, UKaid) for this second phase of its zoonoses control program through the One Health concept. The « One Health » approach works towards a unified health strategy at the interface between animal, man and the environment. Organized through five thematic training programs, the program aims to provide research results that will make it possible to propose to our societies interventions more adapted for the control and the elimination of the zoonotic diseases like for example rabies or Ebola. Led by Prof. Bassirou Bonfoh, the African Science Partnership for Intervention Research Excellence (Afrique One-ASPIRE) covers a period of five (5) years (2016 - 2021). The launch of this program, scheduled for Thursday, 21st July 2016, from 10 AM to 12.30 PM during a press conference, will be the occasion to present it to the public and to officially ensure the launch by the Ministry of Higher Education And Scientific Research of Côte d’Ivoire. On the sidelines of this meeting, a conference on the dialogue between science and society will be led by Prof Francis Akindès, Sociologist and Professor at Alassane Ouattara University of Bouake, Côte d'Ivoire. The launch of Afrique One-ASPIRE will record about 100 participants from the world of scientific research, international organizations, the private sector, the public and the media. Afrique One-ASPIRE covers seven African institutions (CSRS, EISMV, NMI-MR, IRED, SUA, NM-AIST, Beca / ILRI), six other African partners (NMIR, TAWIRI, UDSM, MAKUN, KCRI / KCMC, MUHAS) and two (2) Northern Partner Institutions (University of Glasgow and Swiss TPH) in eight countries (Côte d'Ivoire, Senegal, Ghana, Chad, Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Switzerland).

Facebook Twitter Google Plus